Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Lately this book tag has been going around YouTube a lot and although I haven’t been tagged to do it I thought it would be fun to share some of my unpopular bookish opinions with you!

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

For this one I am going to have to say The Maze Runner by James Dashner. It’s not that I hated it, I just didn’t really love the writing style and I didn’t connect with the characters at all. I have not continued with the series because of this and to be honest I don’t know if I ever will.

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer is what I am going with for this one and I know that a lot of people love this series (as I do) but there is quite a large group of people who have read the series and don’t like it but an even larger group of people that haven’t read the series and just judge it off of what they heard or the movies. I love this series so very much and I am waiting for my copy of Life and Death to come in the mail, I honestly can’t wait to read it!

3. A love triangle where the main character ended uo with the person you did NOT want them end up with.

I have read about quite a few love triangles but the main character has always ended up with the person I wanted them to end up with!

4. A popular book grenre you hardly reach for.

For this one I have to go with horror or thriller. The reason I hardly ever read books from this genre is because I get scared really eaisily and I also read a lot before bed so scary books + sleeping =  me being scared and I would rather spend my time reading books that I want to read and that’ll make me happy.

5. A popular or beloved book character that you do not like.

I have to say Aspen from The Selection series and I do know that there are quite a lot of people who also don’t prefer Aspen but there are also quite a few people who love him. I despised Aspen throughout reading The Selection series and I can’t say that I like him any more now. I am hoping to read Happily Ever After soon because I have heard that a lot of people who didn’t like Aspen before reading it felt sorry for him and ended up liking him by the end of the companion novel. I am interested to see if my opion will change.

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into.

For this one I have to go with Jennifer E. Smith, I have read two of Jennifer’s books, This is What Happy Looks Like and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sitght and enjoyed them both but they weren’t 5/5 star books or mind blowing so I don’t feel like I need to read every one of her books. I have The Geography of You and Me but I don’t feel particularly rushed to read, even though I know some people loved it, because of my thoughts on the other two books I’ve read by Jennifer.

7. A popular book trope that you are tired of seeing. (exaples: “lost princess” or “corrupt ruler” or love triangles)

I don’t hate love triangles although I am a little bit tired of seeing them in books when they are totally irrelevant. I don’t like it when another male character is thrown into a main characters face when they already have a love interest for no apparent reason. But I do have to say, when love triangles are done in a good way I can’t help but love them. 🙂

8. A popular book series that you have no interest in reading.

Its not that I’ll never finish this book series it’s just after reading the first book in The Maze Runner series I don’t feel as though I will be continuing the series any time soon.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie” but what movie or TV show did you prefer over than the book?

(Sorry to repeat this again) but I have to go with The Maze Runner movie. As you can tell I didn’t prefer the book but the movie was really good. I liked how it was fast paced and action filled and in the book I didn’t enjoy James’ writing style but I found the story translated to the big screen perfectly. 

So those are some of my unpopular bookish opinions! None of these are meant to offend anyone I just simply wanted to share some of the opinions that us as readers don’t normally share. If you have a blog or booktube I highly recommend that you do this tag because it was very fun and I find that reading people’s unpopular opinion very interesting too!

2 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Leave a Reply

