October Wrap Up 2015

October was a pretty good reading month for me actually. I didn’t read very many phenomenonal books but all the books I did read were very good and I enjoyed them all very much!

 The first book I read this month was Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling. This was the third or fourth time I read this book and it was definitely just as good as the first few times I read it! I love how this book makes you feel like you are actually studying at Hogwarts are that you are reading the book for Care of Magical Creatures Class. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them kept the 5/5 stars I gave it the first time I read it.

The second book I read this mont was Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. I was a little bit disappointed by this book because I thought it was going to be better. To me, a lot of the scenes tended to drag out especially the court scene towards the end and I felt as if the ending was a bit abrupt and didn’t sufficiently close the novel the way I would have liked for it to have been. Overall I gave Alice’s Adventures in Wonderlan 3.5/5 stars.

The third book I read in October was The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard by Kiera Cass. I wasn’t very impressed with is book. I was hoping that it would add a lot to the series by having two different perspectives other than America’s but sadly it didn’t add much. The Prince, from Maxon’s perspective, was my favourite out of the two. I felt as though it wasn’t completely necessary but it was interesting to see some scenes we know from America’s perspective through Maxons eyes. The few scenes that we hadn’t seen before were quite interesting to read and I liked to experience a little bit of Maxons life inside the palace before the selection started. The Guard, told from Aspen’s perspective, on the other hand I didn’t really like at all. I didn’t like Aspen at all while I read The Selection series and to be honest, The Guard made me hate him even more. I felt as though his perspective was irrelevant and was just an attempt to make more people like him. Not many of the capters were new, it was all scenes we read about before in the series. I don’t think Aspen’s point of veiw added anyting to the story, if anything it took away. I gave The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard 3.5/5 stars.

 The fourth book (well this one is a comic book) that I read in October was Ms. Marvel: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson and illustrated by Adrian Alphona. This is the first comic books that I’ve ever read and I will admit that I think it was a great introduction into the comic book world. The main character Kamala was someone I could totally relate to and I found myself laughing throughout the whole story. In the end I gave Ms. Marvel: No Normal 4/5 stars.

Death Note: Volume One by Tsugumi Ohba was the fifth book I read this month. This is the very first manga that I have ever read and I loved it so so much! I definitely did not expect to love as much as I did. I honestly didn’t know what to expect before I started reading Death Note but I was pleasantly surprised. Apart from the fact that I was a llittle confused a few times throught the book I found it very funny especially towards the begining and it was incredibly interesting I couldn’t stop wondering what was going to happen or who’s name would be written in the death note next or how they would die (apart from a heart attack of course). I am so excited to read the rest of the volumes and overall I gave Death Note: Volume One 4/5 stars.

The sixth, seventh and eigth books I read in October were all mangas, continuing with Death Note: Volume Two, Death Note: Volume Three mad Death Note: Volume Four, all by Tsugumi Ohba. I have to say that Volume Two was my favourite, I felt as though it added so much to the story and everything was perfectly relevant where as in the third and fourth volume not everything was as relevant but enjoyable just the same. In the end I gave Death Note: Volume Two 5/5 stars, Volume Three 4/5 stars and Volume Four 4/5 stars as well. You may be wondering why I don’t have reviews up for these because I am obviously enjoying them and I have actually decided that once I am done the series I am going to put up a review up for the whole Death Note series.

 The final book I read this month was Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. I loved this book so much and it was great to read another amazing book by Rick! I have a full review up  so if you wanted to read more of my thoughts, click here.  I gave The Sword of Summer (a well deserved) 5/5 stars.

So there you have it, all the books/mangas/comic books I read in October. I hope you all had a good Halloween and a good reading month as well!

6 thoughts on “October Wrap Up 2015

Leave a Reply

