The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick Book Review

  

Title: The Silver Linings Playbook

Author: Matthew Quick

Genre: Contemporary

Pages: 289

Format: Paperback, Movie Tie-In Edition

Rating: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: Meet Pat. Pat has a theory: his life is a movie produced by God. And his God-given mission is to become physically fit and emotionally literate, whereupon God will ensure a happy ending for him — the return of his estranged wife Nikki. (It might not come as a surprise to learn that Pat has spent time in a mental health facility.) The problem is, Pat’s now home, and everything feels off. No one will talk to him about Nikki; his beloved Philadelphia Eagles keep losing; he’s being pursued by the deeply odd Tiffany; his new therapist seems to recommend adultery as a form of therapy. Plus, he’s being hunted by Kenny G!

My Thoughts: (I would advise you not to read this if you haven’t read The Silver Linings Playbook)  This book was amazing. One of my favourite parts about it was the way Matthew wrote in Pat’s perspective. Pat was dealing with a lot of serious issues including memory loss, depression and other mental health issues and with the way the book was written I felt as though I was in Pat’s brain. By the end of the novel I felt as if i knew the way he thought, how he felt and how he would react to various things and in different scenarios, and I really enjoyed that aspect of the novel. Now to alk about Tiffany. Right after finishing the novel I didn’t really know how I felt about her. I know that she didn’t really aid Pat toward the end of the novel but from the start I felt as though Tiffany was a good influence on Pat. She gave him company while running, even if he didn’t want it, but he needed it and she was a good friend to him when she was trying.  I really liked the dance aspect that was added to the novel, and as a dancer myself it was something I really enjoyed. Pat’s Mom was probably one of my favourite characters. I just loved the way she was with Pat, and unlike Pat’s father, his Mom comunicated with him and tried to understand what he was going through. I also very much enjoyed Cliff, Pat’s therapist. You don’t really come across very many therapists in books where the person actually enjoys talking to them and I really loved the way Cliff handled Pat and his mental struggles. I do have to say when I was about 2/3 through this book I was thinking of what rating I was going to give it. But the ending changed it all. I knew, about 100 pages from the end that something big, to make the story phenomenonal was missing, but oh my goodness, that something, or should I say somethings, all happened in probably the last 100 pages or so. It in no way felt overwhelming, but the whole dance  recital, Tiffany pretending to be Nikki and Pat finally remembering what happened all contributed to the novel in the best way possible which is why I gave it 5/5 stars. I was so relieved when we got to find out what Pat had done to make Nikki divorce him, especially because of how dramatic and life changing it was for Pat. It gave you an even bigger sense of what Pat was dealing with .Last but not least, my absolute favourite aspect of The Silver Linings Playbook was how Pat always looked for a silver lining, even in the worst situations. I really appreciated that, even though in some parts of the book, like when he got beat up on Christmas and there obviously would be no silver lining to the situation, Pat still believed that something good would come out of his terrible experience. I would definitely recommend this book to people, especially if you love contemporary novels.

5 thoughts on “The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick Book Review

  1. Hi Emma, I’m happy to see that you have written about one of my favourite movies. I haven’t read the book but have watched the movie many times. Another one of my favourites is with Jack Nicholson, “As Good as it Gets”. Thanks for writing Emma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

