The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle Book Review 

  

Title: The Accident Season

Author: Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery

Pages: 291

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 3/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear. But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

My Thoughts: ( DO NOT read this if you haven’t read The Accident Season) This book was a very interesting read for me because I don’t normally read haunting, paranormal, mysterious books. Although I didn’t really enjoy this book too much I did finding it very captivating and I could understand why someone else migh enjoy it very much. To start off, I just didn’t think any of the characters where very different, they all kind of had the same personality and meshed together. That lend to me not even liking any of the characters very much because they all made similar decisions and said similar things all the time. That leads me to their decisions. Some of the decisions Cara, Alice and Sam made were so unintelligent I couldn’t help but laugh at them when something went wrong. Especially the one scene when Sam and Cara decided to take a walk in the middle of the night which already isn’t a good idea but then decided to walk over the not fully frozen lake and during the accident season. Like who even does that on a normal day? By the end of the book I couldn’t even care less whether or not they were dead because there were so many ways in which they could have protected themselves and prevented everything that happened. One thing that made me a little upset was that I saw the burning down of the ghost house coming. In the middle of the book it was foreshadowed, Cara the main character said “Everything in the room is just son flammable, and we are most of all” and from that moment on I knew there would be a fire so when it finally came I was like oh finally because I saw it coming the whole time. As for the ending I was just confused, I think that it was partially from the authors writing style but the last few chapters were especially all over the place. 

I’m sad that I didn’t enjoy this book because I really wanted too and  the last two books that I’ve read, The Accident Season and Everything, Everything, I didn’t really like all that much so I’m hoping that the next book I read will be good and break this not-good book streak that I am having. 

5 thoughts on “The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle Book Review 

Leave a Reply

