5 Books and 3 Tips To Help You Out Of A Reading Slump

 

Hey guys I hope you are all having a good day! I am currently on Christmas break and I am having such a relaxing time. It’s so nice not to have the stress of homework and projects and school in general and just relax. Although I haven’t done much reading, every book I pick up my brain is just telling me not to read it! I hope I’m not falling into a slump but it did give me that idea for this post! Now here are 5 books/series and 3 tips that will help you out of a reading slump (hopefully!). 

 Book #1: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

  

I know that most people have read Harry Potter but if you have r haven’t read it you probably love it or will love it and who doesn’t want to curl up in a ball under blankets with hot chocolate/tea/coffee and read some of the best books in the whole world!?

Book #2: The Selection Series by Keira Cass

  

This series got me out of a slump and they may not be the best books in the whole world they are definitely very amusing and quick to read (I read the series in four days, each one back to back) and I would defiantly recommend giving this series a short if you haven’t already.

Book #3: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

   

 

This is just such cute contemporary and I got completely absorbed in the story when I read it so I think it would would be perfect to read when you are in a reading slump.

Book #4: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  

Every book lover should read this book, Rainbow Rowells writing is so awesome and I always fall in love with all her characters but I think Fangirl is a perfect book to read when in a slump or falling into a reading slump because the main character is so relatable to us book lovers and reading about someone else who loves reading might just do the trick and pull you out of the reading slump.

Book #5: Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

  

I think Let It Snow is especially good for this time of year because it will get you into the Christmas mood that you won’t want to put it down. It’s such an adorable story and fast  paced so you are never bored, I think it would be perfect.

 

Tip #1: Try re-reading a favourite.

I know that for me re-reading a favourite will pull me right out of a reading slump, and someimes it’s hard to do knowing that you have a million other books on your tbr but its better that not reading anything at all!

Tip #2: Read a short book… or two… or three.

Some times all you need to do is pick up something short and sweet as a break especially if you normally are reading ginormous fantasy novels like the Outlander series or the Throne of Glass series.

Tip #3: Don’t read.

Sometimes all you need to do is binge-watch a tv show. 🙂

  
I hope this helpful to you and if you have any tips or tricks that help you out of a reading slump let me know in the comments!

26 thoughts on “5 Books and 3 Tips To Help You Out Of A Reading Slump

  1. Okay! I must seriously be missing something because I’m not sure I’ve ever been in a reading slump (unless you consider the time high school literature killed my desire to read). Though, I must say that binge watching a TV show sounds pretty awesome! *has way too many shows to catch up on* :p What show are you likely to binge watch right about now?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic post, Emma! Usually if I’m in a reading slump I just let it be and don’t read as your third tip suggests. And I second your choice of Let It Snow, it’s a wonderful easy read. And I find contemporaries to be perfect for these slumps. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Super cool tips. I like the one saying ‘go watch a TV show.’ That is so true. Sometimes people force themselves to read in the name of challenges or some other reason that it takes all the joy out of reading. It then feels like toiling /studying. And yeah, anyone who starts reading Harry Potter will not be able to keep it down, for sure!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for this. I’ve kind of fell into a reading slump lately and it’s become a difficulty to complete my reading challenge. I actually signed out To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before from my school library. I might pick that book up next. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

