Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins Book Review

  Title: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 338

Format: Paperback

Rating: 4.5/5 stars 

Goodreads synopsis: Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

My Thoughts: (SPOILER ALERT do not read this if you haven’t read Lola and the Boy Next Door.) This year book was absolutely adorable and I’m so glad I read it. One of my favourite parts about it was that you still got to see Anna and √Čtiienne, even though the story followed Lola Nolan. Right off the bat I didn’t like Max. He’s like the cocky rock star jerk, similar to Adam from Gayle Forman’s If I Stay duology and I don’t particularly like those kind of characters. I was really happy (probably too happy haha) when Max and Lola broke up. TEAM CRICKET ALL THE WAY!! Cricket was adorable. I loved how they lived next door and how they would stand at their windows at night and talk, it was so cute. I almost wish I could read the same story from Cricket’s perspective, I think it would have been so interesting to know what was going on in his head as well. The whole time I was just waiting for the moment Lola and Cricket would get together. Nathan and Andy were awesome, it was cool to see some diversity in the parental area since in a lot of YA novels you never see the parents at all. The reason I didn’t give this a higher rating was because I didn’t enjoy it as much as Anna and the French Kiss. I related to Anna more than I did with Lola and I didn’t really like Lola for the first 100 pages of the book (she did grow on me though). Overall I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it! I do have to say, i am starting to love Stephanie Perkins and I haven’t even read all her books yet! The touch of Isla we got in Anna and the French Kiss intrigued me and I loved Josh in Anna as well so I am very excited to read Isla and the Happily Ever After! (Click here to read my Anna and the French Kiss book review!)

2 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins Book Review

Leave a Reply

