Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins Book Review

  

Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 339

Format: Paperback

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart. Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

My Thoughts: (SPOILER ALERT if you haven’t read Isla and the Happily Ever After (or Lola and Anna) don’t read this) I cannot tell you how much I loved this book. It was definitely my favourite of the series. It was so cute, but heartbreaking and so romantic. I again, adored Stephanie’s writing, it’s so easy to get into the story with her light, fluffy writing style.  I was never bored, it’s always kept me on my toe, wanting to know what was going to happen. Isla was so relatable, she read for pleasure as well which made her even more relatable. There was something about Josh that I really liked when I read Anna and the French Kiss, and while reading Isla and the Happily Ever After I grew to love him even more. Even though he was of the rebellious type (which I don’t usually like) I was drawn to Josh and his artistic nature. Kurt was adorable, and I loved his relationship with Isla. Isla and Josh together were adorable as well (I feel like I am saying adorable too much haha). Although they went into things fast I still loved their relationship so much. Their encounter in New York at Kismet was so cute especially when Josh walked her home. This whole book in general was tearing my heart out over and over again (but in a good way, if you know what I mean). Unlike Anna and Lola where the girls get together with the boys towards the end of the book, Isla and Josh were together right away so I knew something was bound to happen. The  whole time when Josh and Isla were broken up, especially the day after when Isla had 42 missed calls from Josh was absolutely heart wrenching. I just wanted them to be happy (and together). I loved the ending SO MUCH. When Isla went to the pizza place after Josh called her and met the whole gang I was so happy. It was so nice to read about all my favourite characters again, Anna and Étienne were as cute as ever, and I DIDN’T EVEN SEE IT COMING WHEN ANNA AND ÉTIENNE WERE STANDING ON TOP OF POINT ZERO AND ÉTIENNE GOT DOWN ON ONE KNEE I WAS SCREAMING INSIDE IT WAS SO PERFECT. It was awesome and such a perfect addition to the end of the story. In the end, I was so happy with the turn out of this book although I’m a little sad the series is over but I will reread them in the future for sure. I am definitely going to be recommending this series to anyone who asks me for a good contemporary to read. (Click here to read my Anna and the French Kiss book review and click here for my Lolo and the Boy Next Door book review)

7 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins Book Review

Leave a Reply

