The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Partick Ness Book Review

  

Title: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Author: Patrick Ness

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary 

Pages: 336

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 3/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death? What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again. Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life. Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions. Award-winning writer Patrick Ness’s bold and irreverent novel powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable.

My Thoughts: (SPOILER ALERT I would advise you not to read this is you haven’t read The Rest of Us Just Live Here.) Ahhh my first book of 2016. I wasn’t particularly bad but it wasn’t good either. I didn’t go into it with high hopes, even though I had heard so many people say Patrick was their favourite author, so I wasn’t disappointed. The book just fell flat for me. I was very intrigued by the synopsis of this book when I first heard about it and a lot of people had been saying how much they liked it so when I got it for Christmas I knew I’d be reading it soon. The whole idea of it following the characters that weren’t ‘The Chosen One’ really appealed to me. I loved how at the beginning of each chapter you got a paragraph that told you a bit about what was happening to the ‘Chosen Ones’ or who the referred to as ‘the indie kids’. It was also a very diverse book from character to character everyone was each their own bringing in all different races, mental health issues and problems that made you think. As for the plot, I don’t want to say this harshly but nothing significant happened. It just kind of followed their everyday lives and yes, I know the whole point of the book was that the main charaters were the ‘normal’ kids but it just wasn’t very compelling. Yeah there was the car crash with Henna and Mike and the concert being blown up but non of the events were relevant to the end of the story. Nothing went anywhere. You didn’t find out what the blue lights were in the end or why everything was always blowing up (like the school & concert) everyone just graduated and it just ended… At the end I didn’t think ‘Oh I winder what would happen next!’ And even a few days later (I finished it on January 1st) I have not once found my brain wandering back thinking of how the characters are doing and such. It is sad that this was my first take on Patrick Ness but one this is, I did really like his writing style and I will definitely be picking up some more of his books in the future.

17 thoughts on “The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Partick Ness Book Review

  1. This book was probably one of the most disappointing books of 2015 for me. I still think I was overly generous with my star rating because nothing really did happen. I didn’t like the fantastical element that were put in and I would of liked this to be a straight up contemporary than the weird sci-fi/fantasy story I read. I did really love Mikey though! Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this book yet but it’s stilling on my shelf, would you mind doing a quick summary, spoiler free for me just as a reply to this comment. I’ve heard mixed things and just want to see what you thought of it without being spoiled. Thanks 🙂 – themysteryreader

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you read the ‘Goodreads Synopsis’ part of my post that’s a pretty good hint of what the books about but it follows the main character Mike, his sister, and their friend group during their last month and a half of high school. Weird things start to happen around the small town but they don’t really have a part in them because they aren’t ‘indie kids’ (the Chosen Ones). And that’s it basically.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was recommended this book by one of the girls in a book shop, but read The Knife Of Never Letting Go around a year ago and hated it around 6 months ago! So thanks for this- it has reassured me that I didn’t make the wrong choice. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So sorry to hear this book fell flat for you! Patrick Ness has quickly become one of my favourite authors, and I was intrigued with how this book would turn out. I definitely recommend you check out some of his author books though; A Monster Calls and the Chaos Walking trilogy are both amazing! ❤ Hope you like them better if you give them a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

