A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness Book Review

  

Title: A Monster Calls

Author: Patrick Ness

Genre: Low-Fantasy

Pages: 224

Format: Paperback

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming… This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

Spoiler Free Thoughts: AH THIS BOOK. I was at school yesterday and thought I want to read A Monster Calls right now. So since I didn’t own the book and it was lunch time, I quickly stopped by my schools library after eating and took out A Monster Calls. Sadly they didn’t have the gorgeous edition with illustrations by Jim Kay but I took the book out anyway and began to read it as me and my friends sat by our lockers. The bell rand and I had to go to class being only 40ish pages in but as soon as I got home I sat down and finished it and let me just say, it’s like my heart got stabbed… but in a good way. This book is heart wrenchingly amazing. Patrick’s writing is just so beautiful, and I have read The Rest of Us Just Live Here (for my review click here) also by Patrick and one of the few thing I loved about that book was his writing. It was seemed so effortless but thoughtful as well. As for the story line it was short but not too short that you didn’t get everything you wanted from the story. The characters weren’t anything special in particular but I still felt connected to them. Conor, the main character, is dealing with his mom having cancer and even if you personally haven’t dealt with cancer or terminal illness that closely in your life, I still felt as though some things Conor did can be relatable to anybody dealing with something sad. The recurring dream Corner kept having was haunting but the message behind it was so true. This book is definitely one of my new favourites, I can’t stop thinking about it, and I will be going out to buy it as soon as possible.

30 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness Book Review

  1. I feel like I’ve read the synopsis of this book before somewhere in a used/wholesale/second hand shop. And I didn’t buy it. But you love it. Now I’ll have to go through my map destinations and hunt for the shop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

