Movie Game by Michael Ebner Book Review

  

Title: Movie Game

Author: Michael Ebner

Genre: Young Adult

Pages: 302

Format: Kindle

Rating: 1.5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: It’s been three years since Joe’s father vanished. Now seventeen, he is unaware that government agents are watching him in case his dad makes contact. Joe is too distracted by his secret girlfriend, midnight swims in the pools of strangers, free drinks from his buddies at the movie game and the glamorous college student, Felicity. But his movie-esque existence and addiction to fiction is set to collide with a heavy dose of reality this summer when he discovers everything is not what it seems: his secret girlfriend wants to be the real thing. His college fling may have ulterior motives. And the government agents want co-operation to catch his missing father. All this and the three year old death of Joe’s first girlfriend Alice are going to cause him to face some dark truths.

My Non-Spoilery Thoughts: I honestly knew from very early on that I didn’t like this book. But I have a problem where I can’t put books down without finishing them, I just like finishing all the books I start to give them all a fair chance before I criticize them. Movie Game just was so incredibly boring, and I don’t say that to be rude I’m just saying how it is. All you did was follow the main character Joe, everyday of the summer doing ordinary things like watching movies and swimming. There was no movement in the plot until probably 85% of the novel was over and the event that happened in the end wasn’t even big and/or interesting enough to change/make me forget about the beginning. None of the characters where at a all fleshed very much and non of them really even had a personality. At one point in the book, Loren, Joe’s sister, was deciding whether or not she should go to Paris and at that point I wanted the story to change to follow her life and experiences in Paris because it would be way more interesting than Joe’s life which we were actually following. The only part I like was when you got to read the chapters where it was ‘3 Years Ago’. Those were actually pretty interesting and I would have loved to read about Joe’s life then rather than when he was 17. I guess one other good part was that the book lived up to the name ‘Movie Game’ because Joe would go to a bad and play a movie naming game with some friends but that wasn’t a very prominent part of the story and didn’t really add anything except tying in the novels name. The writing style wasn’t bad but it didn’t really stand out to me either. Although I didn’t like Movie Game, I am glad I read it because things I do and don’t like in a book are definitely starting to stand out more and to know that I don’t like every book and that’s okay. Overall I gave it 1.5/5 stars and even though I know I will never read it again or recommend it to anyone, I still felt like the writing wasn’t bad and I could see the potential.

2 thoughts on “Movie Game by Michael Ebner Book Review

Leave a Reply

