Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira Book Review

  

Title: Love Letters to the Dead

Author: Ava Dellaira

Genre: Young Adult. Contemporary 

Pages: 336

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to the dead—to people like Janis Joplin, Heath Ledger, Amelia Earhart, and Amy Winehouse—though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating the choppy waters of new friendships, learning to live with her splintering family, falling in love for the first time, and, most important, trying to grieve for May. But how do you mourn for someone you haven’t forgiven? It’s not until Laurel has written the truth about what happened to herself that she can finally accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was—lovely and amazing and deeply flawed—can she truly start to discover her own path. In a voice that’s as lyrical and as true as a favorite song, Ava Dellaira writes about one girl’s journey through life’s challenges with a haunting and often heartbreaking beauty. 

Spoiler Free Thoughts: Three words to describe this book would be, heart-wrenching (that counts as one right?), beautiful and real. I loved the plot line, it was kind of right up my ally, so I was happy that I ended up loving it. It was also a bit of a similar style to The Perks of being a Wallflower (which I loved as well). I was also very happy that I loved it because my favourite genre is contemporary, young adult, contemporary to be specific (which you probably could have guessed by now because I’ve mentioned it before and that’s the genre of most the books I read) but I’m seeing more and more trends in them and don’t love all of them that I read. Oh my goodness, the writing was absolutely beautiful and poetic, it seemed almost effortless. I feel like Ava just wrote, she didn’t think to much about it but it wasn’t careless. She made you feel Laurels grief for her sister May, the sadness of her mom leaving and the nervousness of Laurel staring high school, all through her writing. Love Letters to the Dead was also not all about love and romance, it was also about friendship. Laurels friends were such an important part in the story and they might not have been perfect but they were there for her and it was wonderful. This is a bit of a short review but overall if you like, sad but beautiful contemporaries then this is definitely a book for you. 

 

22 thoughts on “Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira Book Review

  1. I really liked this book as well! I had a lot of issues with the main character, but other than that, I think the author projected a good message, and story, about suicide. And Steven Chbosky mentored Ava Dellaira. That’s why their books are fairly similar ^-^

    Like

  2. I am glad you enjoyed the book this much. I read it pretty shortly after The Perks of Being a Wallflower and in my opinion it mirrored the story a bit too much. Also, I never really got into the style of writing that much, like the emotional force of it never hit me because it felt a little too detached for me :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh yes, now looking at The Perks and this book together I can see the similarities and I probably would have felt that way too if I had just read The Perks. It’s too bad you didn’t like the writing style though 😦 but you can’t love everything!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

