Five Cry Worthy Books

  

So, crying in books. It’s something that happens to most of us (and if you haven’t shed a tear while reading an emotional scene in a book then, do you even have a heart…I mean wow how did you manage that??) and I’m a mood reader so when I’m choosing what book to read and I choose a sad book, chances are I’m going to cry/have tears in my eyes. It also doesn’t help that my favourite genre is young adult contemporary which most (but definitely not all) of the time tends to be more emotion triggering. Anyway, enough with the excuses reasons why I cry while reading books and onto my ‘Five Cry Worthy Books’ (in no particular order!)

 #1: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  

First of all it’s a book about a young boy who’s mother is dying, so that to begin with is sad but putting that with Ness’s beautiful writing made me have a waterfall of tears flowing out of both my eyes.

#2: The Fault in our Stars by John Green

  

Okay, I know this is clichΓ© but back when The Fault in our Stars wasn’t even popular and I was reading it for the first time, I hadn’t really read many YA contemporaries… so this one hit me hard. I feel like if I read it now for the first time it wouldn’t have been as emotional but man oh man Hazel and Augustus were my OTP and John Green literally ripped my heart out with the ending of this book.

#3: The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan 

  

*HEROES OF OLYMPUS SPOILERS!!! DON’T READ IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE SERIES* When one of my very beloved OTPs got thrown into the depths of Tartarus at the end of this novel as a cliffhanger and I had to wait a whole year for the next book, I’m pretty sure my 11 year old self didnt know what to do other than cry. 

#4: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

  

Any of them… well maybe not the first few books, but there are quite a few tear jerking/heart breaking (depending on who you are) deaths throughout the series that made me cry, as well as the end of the series in its entirety which also made me cry.

#5: Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira 

  

This book is a more recent read for me and I didn’t actually cry but I sure was using as my strength not to let those tears fall on the plane on my way back from Florida. Family book deaths + me = crying. (Click here for my full book review!)
I don’t know about you but when I hear that a book made someone cry I am even more interested in reading it, hearing that everyone loved and sobbed while reading A Monster Calls is actually what initially made me pick it up.  But enough about me, what about you!? Do you consider yourself an easy book crier and did any of these books make YOU cry?   

 

23 thoughts on “Five Cry Worthy Books

  1. Both The Fault in Our Stars and A Monster Calls brought tears to my eyes. So did The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin. Books that made me actually full on bawl were Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, Bright Side by Kim Holden and When It Rains by Lisa De Jong. Great topic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

