Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Book Review


Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy, Adventure, Young Adult

Pages: 352 pages

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Spoiler Free Thoughts: I want to start of by saying that I am so pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this book! I’ve had the firs two books in the trilogy on my shelf for a while now and the third book since it came out but I didn’t know when I’d have you courage to read them, I was worried because I get scared really easily but I still really wanted to read it because I’d heard so many good things! But then I saw the movie trailer when it came out and I was like I MUST READ THIS NOW and here I am, now having read the book and loved it.

It was a very unique story, and if you aren’t aware there are old photographs throughout the book with the ‘peculiar children’ on them and I think the photos went so well with the story. I really like when books have things like pictures, texts or emails and such in the book I think when done well it really adds to the story.

Jacob was a good main character and it was actually refreshing for me to read from a males perspective because I mainly read from the perspective of a female (not on purpose). All the charaters were really interesting and I loved meeting every single one of them throughout the book. I really liked Emma Bloom a lot, I tended to imagine myself as her because we have the same name which made the visualizing of the story interesting hahaha. If I was actually in the Miss Peregrine’s world I don’t think I’d be as awesome as she was though. The way Ransom described everything, characters, scenes and more was so vivid in my mind and I loved that.

I think the reason why it’s not a 5 star book for me is (and I feel bad for saying this) but I had just finished The Book Thief which absolutely blew me away and Miss Peregrine’s didn’t quite have the same affect on me. Also it took me almost a week to finish it even though it was only 350ish pages and that wasn’t because I was busy it was just not hard to put down, I could easily put it down to go make a snack and not pick it up again for a few hours. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, I really did! I would definitely recommend this if you are wanting something a little more peculiar than your average young adult novel!

5 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Book Review

  1. Hi. You did a great review. I just made a book review blog and my very first review is ACOTAR by Sarah j. Maas it is not as good as your review but please check it out. My next book review is Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. And now I can’t wait to read Hollow City. Hope you find time to check my blog out and hope we can follow each other.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

