March 2016 Wrap Up


Hello everyone! Long time no post!!! I was going to have one up on Friday night but then me and my mom headed straight to the dance competition that I had all weekend and we stayed over in a hotel that didn’t have wifi! So I want able to post but now I can get back on track. It’s already a few days into April but I’m going to share with you the books I read in March! I had a significantly better reading month this past month than I did in Febuary, I read a total of five books but I did reread a favourite, find a new favourite and start two series that are so good so far so it was a good month!

img_3393-1
Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

img_3101-1

I fell into a BAD reading slump all through February so I wanted to start of March by rereading my favourite book of last year and my favourite contemporary and it definitely was just as good reading it the second time around, Simon and Blue are just so cute an some of the messages and thoughts brought up in this book are incredibly important, I love how it’s not justΒ a cute contemporary, it’s thought provoking and also absolutely adorable, I kept my rating at 5/5 stars.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling

Then I picked up The Tales of Beedle the Bard which was another reread, I was wanting something short and I just love rereading all the short stories so much, 5/5 stars.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

img_6233-1

Okay. My new addition to my favourites list. This book blew me away. It had been sitting on my shelf for years but I’m not that into historical fiction (except for WW2 books I always really enjoy) and I just always had something else I was want to read more but as soon as I read the first page I was hooked and AHHHH it was amazing. If you want to read all my in depth thoughts and such click here for my review. 100% 5/5 stars. I am so in love with this book.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

img_6262

Coming out of such an amazing book (The Book Thief) I was afraid I would never love a book again (that’s a little dramatic but that’s how I felt okay hahaha) but I saw the trailer for Miss Peregrine’s and I had to read it. Thankfully I have the whole trilogy so the book was less than halfway across the room and I read it and loved it. It was so unique and had great characters. If you want to read all my thoughts click here to reward my review. In the end I gave it 4.5/5 stars.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

It seems like everyone has read and loves the Shatter Me trilogy so when I had a gif card for the book store and I saw all three books super cheap I just had to get them. I finished Shatter Me in two days and I’m halfway through Unravel Me now and I usually don’t like dystopian novels (I read too many of them at once in grade 6 so they aren’t really for me anymore) but I’m actually really liking the series so far! It’s very interesting and captivating, a solid 4/5 stars and I’m excited to find out how it ends!

img_3393-1
Those are all the books I read his past moth! I enjoyed them all andΒ THE BOOK THIEF so that’s really good! Usually I don’t enjoy at least one book each month so loving them all was refreshing! I also halfway through Unravel Me and a quarter of the way through Me Before You (I watched the trailer, oh my I will be a wreck during the movie and probably the book too) so expect to see review for those soon!

Also I recently realized I have quite a few bookish mugs/cups and such if you wanted me to do a post showing you all of them just let me know! I’m a bit busy with dance competition in April but I’m sure I could plan it out!

What about you? Did any of you find any new favourites? Did you have a good or bad reading month? Let me know in the comments!

img_5309-5

34 thoughts on “March 2016 Wrap Up

  1. Simon is so mushy and beautiful and gooey and I’m so, so, so glad it was just as flawless the second time around! πŸ™‚
    I am also verrrry delighted that you loved The Book Thief! Isn’t it just the most heartbreaking piece of amazing in the whole world?! ❀ Aghhhh, the ending killed me, though. I moaned like a whale stranded in the middle of New Mexico for a week after I finished it. WHY, ZUSAK, WHY.
    Anywho, good luck with your reading this month! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kept putting it off too! The trailer was what mad me finally pick the book up because its first impression on me was WOAH SO COOL and even after reading the book I still really love the trailer, I now see the small things they changed but it still looks like it’ll be super true to the book!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eep, I LOVED Simon! So glad you enjoyed it. :3 Wasn’t it adorable?

    I would say that March was an AMAZING reading month for me; I read so many good books! Some of my favourites were The Rose Society by Marie Lu, One by Sarah Crossan, We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adam. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I read lots of manga too hahaha. I don’t really add them to my wrap ups but I tend to add them on my goodreads because they are reading still. I think I might start to add them in maybe starting next month bow that I know at least on of the people who reads my post (you) also reads manga!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg I swear, I’ve been telling everyone that I’ll read The Book Thief, but… IT STILL HAS NOT HAPPENED. *cries* So happy to hear you enjoyed it so much though!
    Yayyyy I’m SO glad you liked Shatter Me–the series only gets better, in my opinion. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like you had such a great reading month! How’d you’d do at the dance comp? What kind of dancing do you do? I need to hurry up and read Miss Perigrines everyone seems to love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

