Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Book Review

 

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre: Young Adult/Dystopian/Romance

Pages: 338

Format: Paperback

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: 

I have a curse

I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days. The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color. The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now. Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Spoiler Free Thoughts: I wasn’t sure how I was going to like this book, but I was hoping I would like it a lot because I bought the whole series at once and wanted to continue on and also I’d heard such good things about it and Tahereh’s writing. I was pleasantly surprised because I don’t normally like dystopian sat all but I was very captivated by Shatter Me.

Tahereh’s writing is absolutely gorgeous. It’s so gentle and poetic, I instantly fell in love with it. I adore her metaphors so much!!!

The characters were likeable. Juliette as a main charater was pretty good although I was getting some major Tris Prior from Divergent vibes from her and I very much dislike Tris as a character. Adam was cool too. The one thing I didn’t get was everyone who’s read the series seems to LOVE Warner and I just found him creepy! I’ve already read Unravel Me as well and I still think he’s creepy so he must do something really redeeming in the last book to be everyone’s favourite.

There wasn’t much world building would be my only big criticism. I didn’t mind that because world building to me can be a bit tedious but it was kind of weird to visualize the world when it wasn’t really described too much. You also didn’t know why everything was happening because the situation that North America was in wasn’t really explained either. All you knew was that things were not going smoothly.

Overall I gave it 4/5 stars. I really enjoyed Shatter Me and I would recommend it to anyone who likes dystopian societies were dope have weird abilities. I can’t wait to se hoe the trilogy ends! (I’ve also ordered the novella bind up online and I can’t wait to read that as well!

19 thoughts on “Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Book Review

  1. I’ve only read Shatter Me so far, but I hoped that there would be more worldbuilding in the sequel. And that Warner would indeed be less creepy haha. I really wonder why everyone loves him, but maybe he really will redeem himself in the third book? I guess we’ll have to find out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt very similarly when I read Shatter Me. I started to like Warner a bit more in his novella, but didn’t really love him until Ignite Me. With Adam it was the same way, although I started to like him less and less as I read more. 😉 I hope you enjoy Ignite Me and the novellas when you get to them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg, Tahereh Mafi’s writing style is one that is SO unique, and so beautiful, I loved it so much. I really can’t wait to hear what you think of the next books! I’m so glad you enjoyed this one. I have to say I kind of really love Warner? But I will admit to being creeped out by him at first too. XD Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. HAHA! Our reviews on Shatter Me are like the exact same! I to was in love with Tahereh Mafi’s writting, it’s so lyrics and discriptive it by far my favourite part of the book! I like Adam fine, and was totally confused by everyone obsession with Warner as well! I still haven’t read the second and third book, although I have read the 1.5 novella, and I’m still like why is in love with this crazy kiddnapping stalker! The world building in this is pretty poor isn’t it, and while you said you don’t mind that I love lots of world building so I kind of hated that bit! Maybe I’ll wait to see your review of the second book go up before I run to read it (even though I own it so at some stage I do have to read it lol) since we had such a similiar response to this book!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG yay! It’s awesome we feel the same! I have read the second book already and I’m halfway through the third (The novellas just came in the mail yesterday so I’ll be reading them after!!) but there is no more world building in the second or third so far, just as a heads up. They do talk about some ‘Capital’ place quite a bit and I’m so confused on what or where that is. Also now in the third book I am understanding why people like Warner more but I don’t know if I’ll be swayed. But if I were you I would keep redoing it or read it when you have nothing else to read because it’s super amusing hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah! I feel like I’d be the same way! Like finding it more amusing then like brilliant! I think the hypes pumped the book up to much for me to go in and like find it even a little meh. I love that you still don’t really like Warner! Totally proves my theory that he’s over hyped haha! I totally plan to finish the series but I must find some time, which is impossible these days!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes time is so hard to find, I tend to do a lot of my reading at school right now, funny enough. I have a really easy semester so that’s probably why but I’m almost done Ignite Me and uh I just don’t really like anyone at this point. I hope you find time to read them and I hope you like them!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello, Emma! Stumbled upon your blog from Aentee’s post. I am liking your blog very much and I see that you’ve read the Shatter Me series. I’ve got Shatter Me but I haven’t had the strongest of urges to pick it up but after reading your review, I think I might as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

