Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone Book Review


Title: Every Last Word

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 368

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off. 

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

Spoiler-Free Thoughts:

I really, really enjoyed this book for many reasons. It’s the first 5 star book that I’ve read since mid March when The Book Thief blew me away. Where I’m going with that is since I read The Book Thief I haven’t read anything deserving (to me) of a 5 star rating, that is, until I read Every Last Word. 

I loved Sam as a main character. She never annoyed me and I related to her in a lot of ways. Her struggles with her rude friends were hard to read about, I felt so bad for her but it was a good aspect of the book. I also loved all the people from Poet’s Corner, they were all unique and interesting and over the course of the book even though some like Caroline and AJ were more main than some of the others I still got to know them all, I loved it.

Sam and Caroline’s relationship was so nice to read about. They were there for eachother throughout the whole novel, it was wonderful. Also AJ and Sam’s relationship was so cute. Sam’s relationship with her therapist Sue was also comforting to read about, Sue was so loving and there for Sam, I couldn’t help but love her.

I adored the poetry aspect of Every Last Word as well, I have read so many contemporaries but I don’t think I’ve ever read one with such a prominent poetry aspect and I really enjoyed it. I loved reading everyone’s poetry, from Sydney’s food poetry to Emily’s sad poetry, it was lovely to read.

If you are big into contemporaries or poetry I highly suggest this book! It’s very quick to read but will definitely leave you wanting more!

Spoilery Thoughts: (don’t you dare read this if you haven’t read Every Last Word!!)

I DIDN’T EVEN SEE IT COMING! I thought everything was starting to be solid and happy in Sam’s life but then BAM. 

I was in English class just casually reading because all my work was done and then I read that part and I literally gasped. I had tears in my eyes, I had to suck them back in during class but I felt so bad for Sam, everything was going so well.

I couldn’t believe what happened. Caroline was one of my favourite characters! She was such a good friend to Sam and to find out what was happening was crazy to read. 

Thank goodness AJ was understanding because I really liked him and if he turned on SA or something crazy I would have lost it. And Sue was wonderful ah.

I just thought it was a cute contemporary about love, friendship and poetry but NOPE. That ending man. Thanks to Tamara for writing it because it took the book from a “Super cute! 5/5 stars” to a “WOAHHHHH 5/5 stars”.

9 thoughts on “Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone Book Review

  1. This is a really nice Review. I have read the first chapter of Every Last Word but I didn’t got into it so I just put it back to my TBR pile but having read your review and knowing how much you liked it I might continue reading it ASAP.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve wanted to read this book for so long! It’s at the top of my purchase list ❤ Your review has made me all the more excited to get my hands on this little beauty. I have to go and get it now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

