Today I am here to bring you the second instalment in my 5 Reasons Why series! I know most people know this series and have probably read it but it’s the people who haven’t read it that I’m targeting. I need to get you on board one of the most amusing series I’ve read.

The Selection Series. It’s some people’s favourite, and it drives some people up the wall. Today I’m here to tell you 5 reasons why YOU should read this series (if you haven’t already).

Brief summary (from goodreads) of the first book The Selection if you don’t know what the book is about:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


#1: It’s FUN!

These books aren’t deep, thought provoking novels. They are fun and light! Perfect to read over the summer or if your like me I read them over a long weekend last year (except for The Crown). The fun setting of a castle, all the dresses and the romance just makes it such a fun series. I just had a really good time reading all five books.

#2: You fly through them.

Like I said before, I read the first four books over a long weekend in May 2015, one book a day and it was a blast. And then when The Crown came out this year I read it in less than 12 hours as well!

#3: Parental Presence. (Mom and Dad aren’t dead!)

The parents aren’t always there but it’s a young adult series with parents, and loving parents might I add, which isn’t normally seen. The whole family dynamic in this series is good to be honest.

#4: Admit it, the romance is cute.

There’s a love triangle (yikes, I know) but the romance is cute even though sometimes it makes me roll my eyes from cheesyness or rip my hair out of frustration hahaha.

#5: If you are a fan of The Bachelor or The Bachelorette, this series is for you!

If you like reality tv in general and you don’t get annoyed by drama and such then, why haven’t you read this series?

I hope I convinced any of you readers who haven’t read The Selection Series to read it or at least consider it!

And if you have read the series, what are your thoughts on it? Did you find it fun or blah, let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why… You Should Read The Selection Series If You Haven’t Already!

  1. These reasons are literally the only reasons to try out the Selection series. They’re fun and light and fast, and though they’re definitely not ‘good’ books, they can be read for the entertainment factor. When I started reading your post, I thought that you’d go overboard like some people do when they talk about this series but thankfully, you stuck to these points 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely one of your target audience for this post, I feel ashamed to admit that I haven’t read The Selction Series yet. I find it quite intimidating because I lot of people loves it and it’s a very hyped book series. I must say your five reasons makes it sound like a really interesting and great series. Especially that it has a cute romance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Agreed with these reasons! They’re just so fun and light. I’ve read all of them in less than a day. And with all of them I mean the ones I’ve read haha. I still need to pick up the last two, but I’ve heard so much negativity towards The Heir that I kind of lost my motivation. I do still want to read them one day, but so far I’ve been buying other books instead haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

