The Crown by Kiera Cass Book Review

Title: The Crown

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: Romance, Dystopian, Young Adult

Pages: 279

Format: Paperback

Rating: 3.5-4/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Spoiler Free Thoughts:

I was really excited to sit down and read this book through. Last May I read the first four books in four days over a long weekend and I was deeply missing The Selection world. Like I said in my ‘5 Reasons Why… You Should Read The Selection Series If You Haven’t Already!’, these books are so light and fun. You don’t have to think too much while reading them.

The main character Eadyln is a bit of a brat still but she wasn’t as bad as she was in The Heir thankfully (she was so bad in that book). The rest of the characters are pretty likeable, you don’t get to know a lot of the boys who are participating in the selection, I think she should have developed their personalities a bit more.

The plot in general felt really rushed. When I got The Crown I was wondering how she’d wrap it up in less than 300 pages and I don’t feel like she did the best job, even 100 more pages would have been sufficient.

I feel like since The Crown is the fifth book in The Selection series I can’t say anything else without spoiling. But overal I had a fun time reading this whole series and I know a lot of people think it’s been dragged out too long and I agree but at the same time if Kiera Cass came out with another book in this world I would 100% read it. Let me know below, have you read The Selection series? If you haven’t read The Crown yet, are you planning on reading it?

Spoilery Thoughts: 

Okay to start off with who she ended up with, during The Hier I was rooting for both Kile and Erik but then at the beginning of The Crown I was leaning more towards Kile but when she was leaning towards Erik I started to as well because I knew she would choose him, it was a bit obvious unless Kiera wanted to take the same path as she did in The One.

Also when Eadyln said she was going to marry Henri and all that I was like uhm no because it just wouldn’t be a sensible choice. They hardly knew eachother because they couldn’t talk to eachother without someone else translating because he couldn’t speak English!! And honestly if she actually would have married Henri I would have been unset because (I might be remembering wrong) but I don’t think they kissed at all or had very many times alone together. And if Henri had learned to speak English who knows but they could have turned out to hate each other!! So I was pretty content with who Eadlyn ended up with.

The cliffhanger at the end of The Hier with Americas heart attack was kind of all for nothing, she just got better, she didn’t die or anything so I was like ???

But, like I said, it was a really fun read and I’m glad I read it. Let me know below, did you like who Eadlyn ended up with?

9 thoughts on “The Crown by Kiera Cass Book Review

  1. One of my friend has been recommending the Selection series especially this one and I wasn’t so sure if I’ll read it or not but after reading this review, I may like it. Thanks for this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree that the book would have been better if it had been a bit longer. There was a lot going on in this book, what with running the country, falling in love, family things, etc., and I felt that I wanted more of the romance between Eadlyn and anyone, but especially with Erik. I enjoyed it, but I was a bit disappointed.

    Great review! I really like the set up you use, splitting it up into non-spoiler and spoiler sections 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

