Title: A Court Of Mist And Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy/Romance

Pages: 640 (according to goodreads)

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Spoiler Free Thoughts:

I was dying to read this the second I closed A Court Of Thorns And Roses (which I read about a week prior to reading this one) and by dying I mean dyyyyyying. I was seeing it everywhere, hearing phenomenonal thins about it, I just needed to read it for myself and bathe in the wonderfulness. I was a tiny bit nervous about it being over hypes but I can happily report that this book was amazing, what everyone has been saying is true, it’s absolutely amazing.

It was over 600 pages, and it’s a tall hardcover so it’s a gigantic book, but in the end I still wanted more. I can’t believe I have to wait a year for the next one.

Now I can’t say too much without spoiling because this is the second book in the series but if you haven’t picked up A Court Of Thorns And Roses yet… what are you doing? The world these books take place in is absolutely beautiful, Sarah paints vivid pictures in my mind while I read about it and (without all the danger) I’d love to live in one of the brighter courts. I also think it nicely compliments the aspect of Fae in the novel.

The character development throughout the novel, especially in our main character Feyre. With her being in new places and experiencing new things throught the story, she grows stronger and you can clearly see that.

The book was never dull, I never wanted to put it down. Something was always happening but it all felt relevant to the story line, nothing felt like a “filler” in the books just to make something happen or cause drama. It was really entertaining and I was on the edge of my seat the whole time wondering how it would end.

It’s been over a week since I finished this (yes I’m just writing my review now oops) but I still can’t decide if I like acomaf or acotar better! I am going to have to decide before the end of the year thoug because I know these both will be in my ‘Top 16 Books Of 2016’ post, they are that good. Again, I can’t encourage you enough to pick up A Court Of Thorns And Roses (and then A Court Of Mist And Fury). Even if you aren’t the biggest fantasy fan, I promise you will love these books.

Have you read A Court Of Mist And Fury yet? Let me know below what you thought (But please try not to spoil much for other people or note in your comment that there will be spoilers) I’d love to discuss it!


19 thoughts on “A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas Book Review

  1. SPOILERS

    I really enjoyed this book as well. I thought the plot was great and the romance was great. Particularly since I didn’t think ACOTAR had much plot until Feyre went Under the Mountain. However, Lucien was kind of thrown out of the story and I thought Tamlin’s 180 degree turn in character was a bit much. I think Maas could have ended the relationship without making him a full-blown abuser and hooking him up with the villain. It’s like she just wanted to be 100% sure no one would support that ship anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I doooooo agree with that. I think no one liked him at all anyway so it wasn’t necessary for her to that. Also I think they could have solved the problem at the end of the book and they could of gone home and lived happily ever after, but nope there’s more (which I’m not complaining about) but I can see how we could have just wrapped it up, right then and there at the end. I’m excited to read what the next ones about.

      Like

      1. Haha! Good point! I was kind of a Rhys fan at the end of Book 1 even though he was ostensibly still the villain. So I wasn’t really sorry to see Tamlin go, but I don’t think he had to go in quite that manner!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am actually planning to read this next week! I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and it’s sequel too! I am also a sucker for fairytale retellings so I think that I’ll definitely like this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A Court Of Thorns and Roses is only slight retelling, and then acomaf isn’t really at all but it’s still a nice addition to the story seeing familiar things from beauty and the beast, but once your into the world, the book will sweep you off your feet !

      Like

  3. I liked ACOTAR but I didn’t love it, so I was a bit hesitant to pick up ACOMAF. But I’m so glad I did because I throughly enjoyed it. Its seriously one of my favourite books of the year. The character development was insane and Feyre and Rhysand were just the best. The Night Court was phenomenal and I loved learning about it. I, too, am bummed we have to wait a whole year for the third book. That ending killed me, it’s gonna be one painful wait.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

