When it comes to completing series, I’m not terrible at it, but I’m not good at it either. I love binge reading series, but if I don’t pick up the next book immediately after reading the first book, sometimes I have a hard time jumping back into the series.

#1: The Grisha Trilogy

This series is a newer one to the list because I just read the first book in the series recently. I really enjoyed Shadow And Bone, and flew trough it in less than a day, but I haven’t yet been wanting to pick up the next book, even though I have it sitting right on my shelf. I do want to finish the series before the end of the summer though and I want to read Six Of Crows soon too.

#2: The Lunar Chronicles 

I read Cinder again, in less than a day in the summer of 2015 and I loved it… I don’t know why I haven’t picked up Scarlet yet, again, it’s sitting on my shelf. I’m sensing a trend here yikes.

#3: The Mara Dyer Trilogy


The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer trilogy I actually have a reason for not finishing. I read the first book and it very, very good but it’s just a bit much for me. I’m one who gets scared very easily and the first book spooked me a lot so I think I won’t ever be continuing this series, but who knows, if I pluck up enough courage to one day I might.

#4: The Miss Peregrine’s Trilogy


I actually bought the Miss Peregrine’s trilogy last year in the fall nut didn’t read the first book until this year in like March, but I really, really enjoyed it. I have the last two book, but have I read them? Nope. *sigh*

#5: The Mortal Instruments Series


And lastly (well not actually but all that I’ll include in this post) is a series that sooooo many people love. The Mortal Instruments. A few years ago I got the box set of the first four and I read the first three and became disinterested. I think if I would have watched the show I would have reread the first three and then continued on with the series but since I live in Canada it didn’t air on any channels. Also I don’t have Netflix so I couldn’t watch it there either. I’m still super bitter they didn’t put it on tv here though. I feel like I’ll read the rest of this series when the hype is less, because it’s still super popular.


To be honest there are many more series that I have started but not finish, so consider this part one. I’ll probably do part two after in the summer. πŸ™‚

What about you guys? What is a series that you started but never finished, or are you like me and have multiple series you haven’t finished hahaha? Let me know in the comments!

36 thoughts on “Unfinished Series: Part 1

  1. I’ve got ADD when it comes to book series, so kudos to you for getting through as many as you have! My ears perked up when you say the Mara Dyer series was scary. It’s been on my radar but I didn’t know about that and now I want to read it even more. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Mortal Instruments, The Lunar Chronicles, and Grisha are so good! They’re all favorites. πŸ˜€ I still have to read Library of Souls and I’m currently reading the first Mara Dyer book. πŸ˜‰ And I have series I need to finish too! I need to read the last book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, and finish The Selection series…to name a few. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t finished The Mortal Instruments either.. I got half way through the second book, stopped reading it and I’m yet to pick it up. Hopefully I will in the future but right now it doesn’t really interest me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve acutally finished all of these, with the exception of The Lunar Chronicles since I’ve not even started those yet. But I’m in the same boat as you with series, if I don’t read the next one straight away a lot of the time they go unfinished haha. Like The Raven Cycle books! I’ve still yet to finish those, but I so want to one day.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve read the first two books and they were incredible, but I never got around to the third one for some reason. I want to do the same, buying and binge reading. Binge reading is always the best! 😊

        Like

  5. I am the same with Miss Peregrines, I have only read the first book! I have finished TMI and The Lunar Chronicles! Both of the series are awesome and you should definitely finish them because it is hard not to love them πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      1. So many books to read! So true!
        If you don’t mind, can you check out my blog and follow it if you like it? I am new here, and struggling to get views. I don’t like promoting myself like this, but I really don’t know how elese.

        Like

  6. This is such a struggle for me because I also love to binge read series so that I stay interested. I always seem to not have time to read a whole series in a row, so I’ve been choosing more stand alones lately. Out of your list, I have yet to finish The Mortal Instruments series! Fun fact: that series is one of my all time favorites, and were new when I read them. I didn’t know new books were coming out until two more had been released! I promise to read them…eventually! Great post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think you should definitely continue The Lunar Chronicles!! If you loved Cinder, it just gets better!! And I’m so glad that I’m not the only one who hasn’t finished the Mortal Instruments series. I loved City of Bones, but as I started reading City of Ashes, I set it down to read something else, and I never picked it back up. It’s been years, and the more I hear about the series, the more I want to pick it back up!! Maybe I’ll get to it eventually!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. YES CONTINUE THE LUNAR CHRONICLES! It strangely took me a while to read Scarlet after Cinder as well. But once I read Scarlet I immediately went out to buy Cress πŸ˜› (Winter sadly hadn’t been released yet)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Soooo many series I will probably never finish WHOOPS. I have book commitment issues, so series commitment is a whole other ordeal for me. Honestly, I am a very problematic person.
    I uuuurge you to pick up Scarlet! A thousand promises that you won’t regret it! πŸ™‚
    Oooh Mara Dyer is pretty spooky, and it only get spookier. I loved the first two but UGH THE THIRD WAS DUMB AND UNFORTUNATE AND JUST TOO MUCH. Ahem. Well, I understand why you didn’t continue.
    Mwah to this post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

