Title: Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 226

Format: Graphic Novel, Paperback

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads Synnopsis: 

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

Review:

Finally I’m back with a review! I haven’t reviewed a book in probably over a month, but I have been reading don’t you worry. Last night I read the adorable Nimona. This is also my 100th post on this blog which is AWESOME. WOW. (King George III reference there hahaha). I like graphic novels a lot but I don’t read many of them because I only get them from my school library, but right now it’s summer, so I obviously can’t go to my school library. But the other day when I was at the bookstore I picked up Nimona because I was really interested in it and I had heard it was really good!

I knew Nimona would be a quick read for me and I felt myself falling into a reading slump the past week and half or so so picking up Nimona was a perfect choice to get some reading in but not forcing myself to read a huge novel. The plot was entertaining and fast paced, so I never wanted to put it down. The little humour aspect was also really enjoyable

The character were super enjoyable to read about. Nimona herself was cute and I liked her backstory and how she was a shapeshifter. Blackheart and Nimona’s relationship was also really fun and their little coversations in between all the drama were hilarious.

The art style of the graphic novel was awesome. It was fun and colourful and it made the overall reading experience of the story better.

I really enjoyed Nimona overalls but I think since it was such a quick read and since I read it in one sitting I didn’t get as emotionally attached too the characters as I could have, so I gave it 4/5 stars in the end. But I did really love it and if anyone has any graphic novel suggestions that have a similar enjoyment as Nimona, then please leave them in the comments!

Have you read Nimona? What did you think about it. Did you like the art style? And if you haven’t read Nimona, are you planning to? I would definitely recommend it!

12 thoughts on “Nimona by Noelle Stevenson Mini Review

  1. Great review, and also congratulations on reaching 100 posts on your blog that’s so amazing! 🙂
    I’ve read Nimona, at the moment it’s actually the only graphic novel I’ve read and I really loved it! The art was amazing and so was the story for that matter. In definitely going to be picking up more of Noelle Stevenson’s books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

