Hey Potterheads! Last night (July 30th-31st 2016) I had the best time ever at a Harry Potter And The Cursed Child midnight release party at my local Chapters! A lot happened and I got a lot of Potter swag and of course the book too. I read the book right away this morning so I thought I’d go through the night and share with you what I did!

I started out the night in my Hogwarts student costume I put together, with my own wand from Universal Studios and everything:

Me and my mom got there early so everything was just getting set up and started. We checked in and I got a cute little tote bag because I preordered the book:

The whole store was decorated, there were Harry Potter signs in the windows and golden snitches hanging from balloons to appear to be flying, and the best part was that they had Harry Potter music playing the whole time.

Then all the games started, we made a cute bag of “floo powder” and a “potion“. We played a little Quidditch game where you had to try to get two of three balls into one of the three hoops (and sadly neither me or my mom scored, it was kind of hard!!) and we played some Harry Potter trivia, which I of course got all the questions right.

My mom also took the sorting hat quiz and she got Hufflepuff, which is my house too!

My mom and I also bought a few raffle tickets and put them in for a draw for all the props and signs from the evening.

They had little prizes everywhere for people to take so I took a few Hogwarts houses stickers, Harry’s scar tattoos, Fantastic Beats stickers and colouring pages:

The Starbucks in the Chapters was open until midnight and selling Butterbeer Frappichinos, and I of course got one and it was delicious as it was the other times I had it.

Then we looked around the bookstore until finally 12:am came!

Then it was time for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child, what we all were waiting for. I was in the ‘preordered’ line but the ‘to be purchased’ line was lined up through the store and out the door.

I was freaking out, I literally gasped when one of the ladies working there took out the first few copies from the boxes, and then, it was in my hands.


The book itself is stunning, I love the colours, especially the gold, ahhhh its just beautiful.

Then I went home and read the first few pages which ripped my heart out:

“All you have to do is walk straight at the wall between platforms nine and ten.”

“Best to do it at a run if you’re nervous.”

THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT MOLLY WEASLEY SAYS TO HARRY IN THE PHILOSOPHORS STONE.

Then I went to bed to dream about reading The Cursed Child in the morning hahaha.

And at 8:30am:

I sat in bed for the next 3ish hours and read it through, and it was wonderful, everything I was hoping for and more. I need to see the play asap because I bet it’s stunning.

I laughed so much throughout the book, the dry humour as Scorpius Malfoy would describe it, was hilarious. My favourite character is probably Scorpius, he’s just absolutely adorable, but I’ll get into all my thoughts and feelings when I post my in depth review soon, probably tomorrow. To be honest I feel like I’ll be talking about this book forever now. It’ll definitely high up on my ‘Top 16 Books Of 2016’ list at the end of the year, that’s for sure.

But you are probably thinking that The Cursed Child adventure stops there. NOPE.

Mid day, after I had read the book and thought about it for a few hours, I got a call on my phone. I only answered it because my mom told me too (I don’t really answer my phone if it’s not a number or person I know) but thank goodness I did because it was Chapters.

I won the draw for the huge Harry Potter And The Cursed Child sign. 

They said on the phone that I could pick it up any time in the next week but, of course, my mom drove me and my brother to Chapters to pick it up.

It’ll be a large, but nice addition to along side my bookshelves in my room, and I’m super happy I won the draw, I didn’t think I would!

That’s it for my crazy fun past 24 hours, now, what about you guys?

Did you go to a midnight release for the new book?

Have you bought and read The Cursed Child yet?

Did you love it as much as I did?

Who is your favourite character?

Let me know in the comments and if you did a post about The Cursed Child, leave the link below, I’d love to read it!

22 thoughts on “Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Midnight Release And Reading Experience!

    1. THANKS !!! And yeah I was reading some bad reviews and I can see where some people are coming from but others I feel are trying to find evidence that it’s not good when it truly is. I also always love things that have a close place to my heart so no matter what comes out, if it’s Harry Potter I’ll probably love it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah hell no it’s not, Jo just wants to let everyone read the play since not everyone can see it and I think that’s nice of her because I can’t fly to London and see it and neither can millions of others so the script book is a way of everyone seeing it in their mind which is the next best thing to seeing it live.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahh this looks so amazing!!! 😍 Yay Hufflepuff!!! Definitely the best house 😁 I finished the book yesterday and I had a couple of issues, but there some parts I really loved like Scorpius and his friendship with Albus. The reading experience was amazing and I felt so wonderfully nostalgic. The lines you mentioned made me super emotional haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That sounds awesome! I sadly couldn’t go to a midnight party, because I was in Florida. I saw it at the airport but my dad said I had to wait because I have a membership at B&N! Then yesterday, one B&N and two Targets later, I finally got it and a Butterbeer frappe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

