Hey everyone! I hope your week is going well. As you can tell by the title this is my August Wrap Up and I super late to posting this because I wrote this whole post and then somehow it didn’t save (which I’m really mad about) so then I didn’t feel like rewriting it then and there, then I had some other posts going up and now here we are 1/3 through September and I’m finally posting my August Wrap Up.

August wasn’t as busy as July for me, although I was at my cousins house for almost a week and I was on vacation for almost two weeks, I still managed to read 6 books (four on vacation which I was pleased with) which is more than I read in July and I didn’t hate any of them which is always good! A few of the books I read were almost 5/5 star books, but only one of them wowed me enough to earn 5/5 stars. Enough with the rambling, let me give you my thoughts on the books I read this month!

Queen Of Hearts by Colleen Oaks

I actually read this in less than a day at the beach which was fun! It’s a Alice In Wonderland retelling which intrigued me a lot and I think the whole retelling part of the story was well thought out but where I think this book lost me was the plot and some events that happened. The characters weren’t very memorable but I did enjoy how her brother was the ‘Mad Hatter’ charater of the story but no one else really stuck with me. The plot was very anticlimactic towards the end and they just kind of ended it. Also some events that took place (that whole escaping through the closet thing or whatever, if you’ve read the book you’ll know what I’m talking about) just seemed sort of unnecessary and ridiculous in my opinion and they could have been written differently to be less ridiculous. Overall I gave it 3/5 stars, I enjoyed it while it lasted for the most part but it’s not something I’d think “oh yeah I’d love to reread this!” about.
The Kiss Of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

I was really in the mood for fantasy at the beginning of the month, so I jumped right into the first book in the Remnant Chronichles after purchasing the third book in the series which recently came out. The Kiss Of Deception was so good, the multiple perspectives (which is an element I always love) were all so interesting, especially since we didn’t know who the assassin or the prince was, we were just reading from their perspective. I also adored Lia as a main character. Overall I gave it 4.5/5 stars and I’m so excited to continue on with the series, especially since I’ve heard the second book is even better than the first!

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

This book I picked up on the plane ride to B.C. because I knew it would be a short, enjoyable contemporary to pass the time on the 5 hour flight and that is exactly what it was. The topic was interesting, the main character not having left his hours for something like two years and the characters were interesting enough although Lisa annoyed me a bit. The plot kept me engaged although the end was a bit of a shuffle I enjoyed it and gave it 4/5 stars.

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Wink Poppy Midnight was definitely one of the most interesting books I have never read and I loved it a lot. From the characters, to the setting, to the plot, the whole thing was incredibly gripping, I couldn’t put it down. For such a short book I still felt deeply connected to every character, and I think the multiple perspectives helped a lot with that. The plot was very twisted and creepy, especially towards the middle but I was so intrigued, I loved it therefore giving it 5/5 stars.. I definitely have to say that Wink Poppy Midnight isn’t for everyone but if you were a fan of We Were Liars, The Accident Season or any books similar to those I would highly encourage you to give this one a try.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I was so excited to read this because everyone loves Morgan Matson and Since You’ve Been Gone was the first book of her that I’ve read. I definitely can see why people love her books so much, it’s exactly what it looks and sounds like, an adorable contemporary. The characters were relatable and fun to read about, and the plot was fast paced and interesting. If you are needing a cute pick-me-up sort of book I would definitely recommend this one, 4.5/5 stars.

Amy & Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

After I read Since You’ve Been Gone and really loved it I knew I needed to read more of Mogan Matson’s books because they are just so cute and summery. We went to a huge Indigo in B.C. so I picked up A&R’s Epic Detour and Second Chance Summer. I read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour straight through on the plane home and although it was super cute, it didn’t blow me away, I liked Since You’ve Been Gone more and I’m starting to notice that there are not a lot of differences between Mogan Matson’s story lines or characters, but I’m hoping Second Chance Summer will change my mind about that. Overall I gave Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour 4/5 stars!


Overall I have to say that August wasn’t a bad moth (I’ve had better) but I am definitely pleased with everything I read.

What about you guys? How many books did you read in Augustand did you fund any new favourites? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “August 2016 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

