Fantastic Beasts Movie Review!


Hey potterheads! A little over a week ago I had the pleasure of seeing Fantastic Beasts with my dad and if I had to use one word to describe it, it would be wow. It would be an understatement to say that I exceeded my expectations.

*also this review will contain spoilers so if you haven’t watched it, don’t read my review*

I knew that I would be emotional the second it started playing but when Hedwig’s Theme started playing and the Warner Bros logo started flying towards us in a foggy sky I just about died. The Cursed Child gave us a little taste of the Wizarding World again but watching Fantastic Beasts catapulted us right back into the world of magic again, but with even more to absorb and explore.

The classic opening of the newspaper montage gave us a hint of the havoc Grindelwald was causing in England, and I knew that Johhny Depp had been cast as him so I was pumped to see who I think will be the villain for the entire series.

Also can we talk about how with Dumbledore being mentioned in the film and Grindelwalds involvement in the plot, we are bound to see Dumbledore in the upcoming films.

I love the 1920s, and having just finished studying that decade in history class it was so unbelievably awesome to have the movie taking place in New York City, in the 20s. The atmosphere of the city, and the wardrobes just made me happy.

Newt was also such an adorable and awkward main character, I want a 7 book series just on his life please. He was just caring and sweet all his cute Fantastic Beasts ahhh it makes me even happier to be in Hufflepuff because Newt!! Going through his trunk was such a light and fluffy but incredibly interesting part of the movie, and when they were talking about Ilvermorny and Hogwarts I just about died.

Also all the supporting charaters like Tina, Queenie and Jacob were entertaining and supported the plot very well, honestly J.K. Rowling never writes about boring charaters, everyone is so well thought out. I wish we got a novella or an article on Pottermore just about Tina and Queenie’s life before Newt came along and one about Jacob’s life before too. Graves was also mysterious and creepy, his relationship with Credence reminded me of Snape and Draco’s during The Half Blood Prince.

I think I’m a little bias of Credence because I love Ezra Miller so much, but I think his character, and his family, were a perfect add to the story and gave the film an even darker feel. Also with the twist near the end of him actually being the obscurial made it even better in my opinion, especially since we were led to believe it was his sister. Also the empathy I felt towards him was well played on J.K. Rowling and Ezra’s part, I truly felt so bad for him ah. There’s a lot of talk online about his background, and who his mother was since Mary Lou Barebone (that evil woman) referred to her as “wicked, unnatural woman” which I’m assuming means she was probably a witch.

As for the plot, it was engaging and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The climax, with Gindelwalds reveal at the end was awesome, I cannot wait to see more of him in the upcoming movies.

I do have to admit I was a bit teary eyed when Jacob walked into the rain, having his memory erased, but seeing his cite little bakery made me smile, especially with the fantastic beasts pastries!!

I could honestly go on and on about how I loved the movie but to sum up my feelings I am incredibly happy that this movie franchise is something I’ll be able to look forward to in excitment for the next four years and I cannot wait to see where else J.K. Rowling takes us in this new chapter of the Wizarding World.

But as I did say, I have lots more thoughts, theories and things to say about Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, so stay tuned for the two posts I have planned/written, that I’ll post in the next week or so.

Until then, I’ll leave you with a question, have you seen Fantastic Beasts, and if you could summarize your feelings about it into three words, what words would they be?

9 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts Movie Review!

    1. Those count !! And yeah I was debating whether or not to wait until I have seen it again to write my review or if I should just do it now and I decided to do it now because I have so much more I want to talk about, but I felt like I should review the movie first.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

