Title: My True Love Gave To Me

Author: Various Authors 

Rating: ★★★

Goodreads Synopsis: 

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

My Thoughts: (spoiler free) 

Going into this book I knew I wasn’t a really big fan of short story anthologies but I thought reading it at this time of year might make me enjoy it more since its holiday themed. I even had a whole plan of reading one story every day for the twelve days leading up to Christmas but seeing as I finished it a few days ago, my plan didn’t work out too well.

The stories were definitely cute and festive I just found myself lacking interest in a lot of the plots and not being able to become invested in any of the charaters because they were so short. Honestly the only one I can remember loving without looking on my updates on goodreads is the very first one and since its the only one I can actually remember, none of the other stories stood out to me enough. By the time I was halfway through I had to almost force myself to pick up the book again to read the next story and it made me enjoy it less even though none of them were necessarily bad, I just didn’t love or feel connected to any of them, which is a bummer.

I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t love this but I did try to read the summer version of it, Summer Days and Summer Nights, in the summer and only made it to about the third or fourth story. I just have a hard time picking the book back up after reading one of the stories because it’s a whole new setting and charaters that I have to get to know, read about and let go of in only 20-30 pages. I am thinking that not enjoying both of these books is a good indication that short story collections are not my thing.

If you are a fan of short stories I do highly recommend picking this collection up because I was very Christmasy and like I said before, December is the perfect month to read it.

It’s too bad my first book of 2017 wasn’t one I loved but it’s okay, I’ve just got to move onto the next one. Do any of you have a hard time reading collections of short stories? Or is it just me hahaha. If you’ve read My True Love Gave To Me, what did you think of it and which story was your favourite?

8 thoughts on “My True Love Gave To Me Book Review: Why I probably won’t be reading any more short story collections any time soon :(

Leave a Reply

