Today on The Washington Post, Daily Mail and on Twitter by Rick Riordan himself, it was announced that on March 23, 2017 a new musical will be playing Off-Broadway called, The Lightning Thief. 


Being both a book nerd and Broadway nerd, I do have to say hearing this news today at school had me a bit shocked. I feel like I should be jumping up and down screaming of excitment but I’m not?

Percy Jackson has been adapted into movies so poorly, I almost want to just take the book series and lock it into a room so no one touches or tries to adapt it again and ruin Rick’s beautiful books and world but I’m also intrigued by the musical and kind of want to see it.

The musical is written by Joe Tracz, who wrote the original Netflix series ‘A Series Of Unfortunate Events’ and Rob Rokicki is to open at the Lucille Lortel Theatre in March. It is also said to be good for everyone ages 7 and up which I think is actually nice. With little siblings myself I know if we were to go to New York any time soon I would want to see shows of course but not everything is age appropriate for a 7 and 8 year old. The Lightning Theif seems like it would be the perfect family show to see. Tickets are also to be sold for $65-$85, ha that seems like a beautiful price compared to the price of Hamilton tickets.

We already have a Percy! Chris McCarrell, who recently played Marius in ‘Les Miserables’ on Broadway and also Nibs in ‘Peter Pan Live’.


He is super cute and looks like he could be a Percy so I’m not mad about this casting but I’m not drop dead about to stan him either.

I knew I couldn’t form too much of an opinion until I heard some of the music and then on Twitter Rick linked a video of Chris singing ‘Good Kid’, one of the songs from the show.

I don’t hate it, it’s definitely Broadway (which I’m not complaining about 😉 hahaha) but I’m still getting used to the idea of Percy Jackson as a musical… of all things. I think it’ll warm up to me when all the songs are released. Chris can also sing (obviously) and I don’t hate his voice so I am intrigued to hear the rest of the songs and find out who the rest of the cast is.

If you want to head the sneak peek of Chris singing ‘Good Kid’ click here.

Overall I’m excited but hesitant at the same time. If this is a flop I think the Percy Jackson fandom will actually give up. These books weren’t done justice when turned into movies so we can all just cross our fingers that the musical is a hit.

Let me know how you feel about this in the comments! Are you hesitant like me or all for it? 

22 thoughts on “A Percy Jackson… Musical?

  1. This is the first I’m hearing of this!! I’m excited. It could go either way, I think I’ll wait and see how the Series Of Unfortunate Events show turns out before getting too excited… 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I share your sentiments! Unfortunately, I’m not excited… I’ve had too much disappointment from the movie adaptations, HAHAH, they’ve permanently scarred me. But also, for some reason, I just can’t wrap my head around the idea of the Percy Jackson series as a musical ??? Oh well, maybe things will change once I start listening to the soundtrack!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A musical? I’m not sure quite how I feel about this… I mean, they haven’t even done the whole series in movies yet, and I’m not sure if a book like Percy Jackson is ment to be a broadway musical…. Eh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My only complaint is that I live too far to watch it, haha I want to check out the songs before I jump to conclusions tho, but I’m very excited because yeah the movies were pretty bad but we need to keep positive 😛
    I’m quite happy with the casting too, I think he’d do a good Percy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I now this is way different, but have you seen Harry Potter: The Musical (it’s on the StarKid Potter channel on YouTube). It’s hilarious. But, I doubt Rick Riordan would let a bunch of college students do the musical version of the Lightning Thief…. sigh, too bad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

