Although we are already into May, it’s never too late to post a wrap up and haul! I had a fine reading month, finishing four books, and adoring two of them which is good! I’m still a bit behind on my goodreads goal which I’m going to try to catch up on in May but I’m going to rely mostly on summer for that (less than two months till summer for me!)!!! 

Anyway, enough rambling about my inability to stay on track with reading, on with the books!

What I Read:

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones – ★★★★

I finished this one up pretty close to the start of the month, and although I enjoyed it a lot it wasn’t as captivating as I though it would be. It was interesting and I loved the music aspect of it up I didn’t enjoy The Goblin Kings at all, he kind of just left a bed taste in my mouth. I’d highly suggest Wintersong for anyone who enjoys a mysterious and dark tone in books.

Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa De La Cruz – ★★★★★

I was super nervous about this one, but ultimately pre-ordered it because I am a crazy Hamilton fan and was so pleasently surprised. Alex and Eliza follows Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler as they fall in love, and although it isn;t based on the musical, I felt like I already knew the characters. It was heartwarming and fun, and made me fall in love even more with the three Schuyler sisters, and Eliza specifically.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – ★★★★★

Upside was my most anticipated release of this year and I have one word for it: perfect. I had pretty high hopes since Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is my favourite YA contemporary of all time but Becky wowed me again! Upside is a witty, diverse and adorable story with awesome main and side character and also is interconnected with Simon, so if you were a fan of Simon and haven’t picked this up yet, get on it! You won’t be let down! 

Lord of the Flies by William Golding – ★★★

I hardly want to talk about this one because it bring up the memories from my horrible english class/teacher (how how my life even come to this? how am I in a bad english class!?) but we read, well more like listened since my teacher never gave us quite reading time (yes, I am salty about this), to Lord of the Flies in english class this month and it was fine. Not the worst book I’ve had to read for school but defiantly not close to the best. The characters were a bit annoying and I was literally falling asleep in some chapters but there was a good theme and I understand why we read it in school so meh, 3 stars.

What I Bought:


I had a GREAT haul of books this month!!! I finally bought the whole Throne of Glass series! Now there’s no excuse for me to not read them!

One thing though, I haven’t got A Court of Wings and Ruin yet. I am going to a Sarah J. Maas signing later this month and you have to buy the book to get a wrist band so I am patiently awaiting for May 21st to come. DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD IT HAS BEEN TO SEE EVERYONE’S PICTURES OF ACOWAR ON INSTAGRAM? I am pretty close to dead because I need to read it now but ya know, self control!!!

If you want to find me on bookstagram I’m @EmmaTheBookLover! I am super active on there so if you are longing to hear from me but I haven’t posted a blog post in a while, that is where you’ll find me!

I’m also on goodreads! Click here for that!

Now for you guys! What was the best book you read in April? Have you read ACOWAR yet? (IF ANYONE LEAVES A SPOILER FOR ACOWAR, SO HELP ME I WILL EXPLODE! And block you lol, this is spoiler free zone!!!)

Have a good rest of your Sunday!

4 thoughts on “April Wrap Up and Book Haul!

  1. I’M SO GLAD YOU ENJOYED ALEX AND ELIZA. I am a die-hard Hamilton fan so that would be horrible if I didn’t like it. XD AND EEK I read Simon Vs. last month and am looking forward to reading Upside! I’ve heard that it’s not as good as Simon Vs., but still good — that’s fine with me! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

